New Dean's Of­fice of the Fac­ulty of Sci­ence as of WS 2023/24

 |  Faculty of ScienceDekanat Naturwissenschaften

At its constituent meeting on 18 August, the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Natural Sciences elected the new Dean's Board for the term of office from 1 October 2023 to 30 September 2027. The elections have now been finalised with the confirmation by the President. Prof Dr Wolf Gero Schmidt was re-elected as Dean. He has held this position since April 2018. Wolf Gero Schmidt, Department of Physics, has been Professor of Theoretical Physics at Paderborn University since 2006.

Professor Dr Kirsten Schlegel-Matthies was re-elected to the Dean's Office as Dean of Studies. She has held this position since October 2018. Kirsten Schlegel-Matthies, Department of Sport and Health, was Professor of Home Economics at Paderborn University until mid-2016. Since then, she has represented the didactics of home economics (consumption, nutrition, health).

Professor Dr Matthias Bauer was re-elected as Dean of Research. He has held this position since October 2018. Matthias Bauer, Department of Chemistry, has been Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at Paderborn University since 2013.

The new Vice Dean of Chemistry is Professor Dr Thomas Werner, Department of Chemistry. He took over this position in August 2023 from his predecessor Prof Dr Thomas Kühne, who was appointed to the W3 Professorship of Computational Systems Science at TU Dresden in May 2023. Thomas Werner has been Professor of Organic Chemistry at Paderborn University since 2021.

The new Vice Dean of Sport and Health is Professor Dr Jochen Baumeister, Department of Sport and Health. He has already held this position from October 2019 to September 2021 and is now taking over from Professor Dr Elke Grimminger-Seidensticker. Jochen Baumeister has headed the Training and Neuroscience Department at Paderborn University since 2018.

Professor Dr Dirk Reuter, Department of Physics, was re-elected Vice Dean of Physics. He has held this position since April 2018. Dirk Reuter has headed the working group for optoelectronic materials and components as part of his professorship for experimental physics since 2012.

This text has been translated automatically.

Photo (Paderborn University, Adelheid Rutenburges): The new Dean's Office of the Faculty of Science: (from left to right) Prof. Dr Jochen Baumeister, Prof. Dr Thomas Werner, Prof. Dr Kirsten Schlegel-Matthies, Prof. Dr Wolf Gero Schmidt, Prof. Dr Matthias Bauer and Prof. Dr Dirk Reuter.